Leave a comment



The Michigan Chronicle is proud to announce the 40 under 40 honorees for 2017. For the past five years, the Michigan Chronicle has recognized 40 of southeastern Michigan’s best and brightest young professionals under the age of 40. Those chosen have exhibited outstanding achievement, great vision, and strong leadership in their respected professions.

After receiving over 400 nominations, the community has helped us identify the young business leaders who deserve to become part of Michigan Chronicle’s 40 Under 40 class of 2017.

The roster of individuals and the companies and organizations they represent are remarkable every year. This year is no exception. From oncology surgeons to State Representatives, these individuals make great contributions to the region’s economy, civic dialog and community advancement.

They represent the city’s most well-respected companies in southeastern Michigan. You have family who attend their schools. You listen to shows and read their columns. You trust them to make the best decisions for our community. They are destined to make history for years to come.

The Michigan Chronicle will transform the business section of the newspaper into a special 40 Under 40 edition to showcase their accomplishments and contributions.

The complete list of this year’s winners can be read below:

Jasmine Barnes 

Senior Policy Analyst/ Community Liaison

Detroit City Council


Erika Batchelor

Director, Head Start

Franklin Wright Settlements, Inc.


Shanise E. Bell, PMP

Director, Business Transformation

Health Alliance Plan (HAP)


Evrod Cassimy




Dr. Eddie Connor     

Bestselling Author, International Speaker, College Professor


Jehan Crump-Gibson, Esq. 

Managing Member

C&G Legal Solutions PLC


LaNesha DeBardelaben 

Senior Vice President of Education and Exhibitions

Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History


Nyron Fauconier 

VP, Account Director

Jack Morton Worldwide


Aaron Foley 


Blac Detroit Magazine


Alaina Fruge  


AM 1200 WCHB, Radio One Detroit


Garlin Gilchrist II

Director, Innovation & Emerging Technology

City of Detroit


Indira K. Glass

District Deputy Director

U.S. House of Representatives


DeLorean Griffin M.D.

Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeon

St. Mary Mercy Livonia


Russell Harris


Jalen Rose Leadership Academy


Sherikia Hawkins 

City Clerk

City of Pontiac


Camille Hibbler, M.Ed. 


University Prep Academy High School


Kimberly Hoyle

Director, Business Development & Marketing

Hamilton Anderson Associates


Antoine Jackson 

Corporate Development Director

Special Olympics Michigan


Paulina Johnson   


National Black MBA Association Detroit Chapter


Toni Jones   

Supervisor, Auditing

Detroit Wayne Mental Health Association


Keith J. Jones

Business and Community Liaison

Councilman Andre L. Spivey


Jewell Jones 

Michigan State Representative

11th District Elect


Jenni Lewis   


Tax Team Services


Elizabeth Mays    

President and CEO

MCS Multimedia


Taylor Nelson 

Executive Programs Coordinator

City of Detroit


Thomas Parker   


Ecorse Public Schools


Choi Portis    

Associate General Counsel

City of Detroit Water and Sewage Department


Erica Proctor, M.D.     

Breast Surgical Oncologist

Henry Ford Health System


Kristina L. Robinson   

General Counsel

Wayne County Sheriff’s Office


Tiffany Lavonne Sanford    

Chief Medical Officer

The Wellness Plan Medical Centers


Sylvia Santana

Michigan House of Representatives

9th District


Nicholas Schrock 

Agency Owner

Allstate Insurance


Cedric Scott   

Director, Media & Communications

Triumph Church


Mary Sheffield

Detroit City Councilmember

City of Detroit


Misha Stallworth

Board Member

Detroit Board of Education


Eric S. Thomas   

Senior Partner, Brand Strategist

Saga Marketing


Katrina Turnbow 

Detroit Co-working Space

KanopiSocial Digital Marketing Agency


Kimberly Vann


VIP Mentoring


Jami J. Vaughn

Operations Director –Facility Administrator

White House Services, Inc.


Shannon Williams


Pathways to Self Determination


Glenn Wilson

Founder and CEO

Communities First Inc.


Coleman Young II

State Senator

District 1

Also On The Michigan Chronicle:
comments – add yours